General email – August 31- Sept 5

G’Day Mates!

So this week was pretty quick and slow, but good of course!
The flu is EVERY WHERE in my area and sadly my companion Sister Oraa caught it, so my other companion and I had to stay home with her a couple times this week, but we were able to do SOME missionary work, hopefully she’ll get better soon though! 🙂
This week we had a zone meeting and we discussed about how to be a successful missionary, how God is our loving Heavenly Father, how to have more faith in Jesus Christ and how it is important to follow the spirit. It was a pretty good meeting! And I know all those teachings are TRUE!
Next week I’ll be able to go to the Brisbane Temple with my zone so that will be super nice, I’ll be sure to take some pictures! So you will receive my general e-mail next week on Wednesday!
My companions and I had the opportunity to do some service this week, and no it wasn’t weeding this time sadly! We went to a less active’s home and cleaned the kitchen and living room space for his mother coming home from the hospital, and then we were able to help our Ward Mission Leader’s wife by cleaning and organizing her garage.
Service is one great way to show your love for others but also to show your love towards God.
Mosiah 2:17 And behold, I tell you these things that ye may learn wisdom; that ye may learn that when ye are in the service of your fellow beings ye are only in the service of your God.
I know that sometimes people don’t have time to do one act of service (weeding, baking a treat, helping with groceries etc.) or may not “feel” like doing it, but I know if you do ONE act of kindness you will be blessed and not only you but the person you give service too will feel happier and closer to you.
Some people think that me being on a mission is a sacrifice, but I think it is one of the best sacrifices and not only is it a “sacrifice” it is a blessing, because I have been blessed being able to communicate with others and also helping others in anyway I can.
This week with our investigators we were able to meet with Lori and Paul. We also received a new investigator Jayden, he is 10 years old and his two sisters are members but their parent’s aren’t (their grandparents are members, the mother’s parents). He wants to be baptised badly but we suggested to him that he should pray about what date he will be ready for baptism that way he knows when he will be ready on his own time. 🙂
Our miracle this week was REALLY neat! My companions and I were out and about visiting less actives and we decided to stop by one of the member’s home that was already in the area we were in and just share a quick message with her. She invited us in and we were only planning on sharing a quick message but it ended up being a feast full of treats! It was quiet funny but so generous of her! She is so nice, someday I hope to be as generous as her when I have guests over! While we were visiting with her, she mentioned a family in the ward that she usually visits but hasn’t seen at church for a while so she suggested that we go visit the family. After we met with her we drove to the home where the family lives, we knocked on the door, and a lady opened the door. We asked if the family lived in this home and she replied saying that they don’t any more and that they had moved about a month ago and now she lives there with her son. I thought it was a perfect time to mention about the church! So I asked her if she has met the missionaries before and she said yes and that she was taking discussions by the Elders but they disappeared due to Sisters coming in the area and then she also had moved. Even Sister Gabinio tried to stop at her old house to follow up with her from the Elders but she had moved at that point. Sister Gabinio asked her what her name is and she said Ellie and she realized it was the same girl that the Elders had taught and we were able to find her again! So crazy! She invited us in  and was so happy that we had found her again so now we will be meeting with her this week. 🙂
Yesterday I was able to have dinner with a Samoan family in the ward and we were able to eat traditional Samoan dishes! It was interesting, different but yummy! They served raw fish called “oka”, octapus WITH the ink called “faiaifee” and taro which is a root, it tasted a lot like a potato!
Here are some pictures of what the police cars look like in Australia, some of the houses here in Brassall, the first spider I have seen here, AND the lady we visited said it’s just a BABY! A storm about to approach and the Samoan food I ate!
Well! That’s pretty much the week! Hope you all are doing great and keeping safe!
Fa Soi Fua! (Goodbye in Samoan)
Sister Grawrock
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

