General E-Mail July 28 – August 3

G’day!

Hope is all is well and you all are still enjoying your summer! πŸ™‚
Quiet a lot has happened this week!
And this week is about to be buuusy because my companion Sister Solosko leaves to go back home to Texas on Monday aaand…
I GOT MY VISA!!! So I’m going to Australia on Monday!!! πŸ™‚
So lots of packing and getting the new missionaries ready for the Lake Stevens area!
So Sister Solosko and I started with service this week, can you guess what service it was? Yard work! Yay! πŸ™‚ It was actually pretty neat this week. It’s with the same lady, her name is Yevonn, she isn’t a member of the church but she is a very sweet old lady. My companion and I did yard work for her Tuesday morning and then Wednesday afternoon we went over again but this time Sister Solosko and I were in skirts so we weren’t really able to help out, BUT the awesome youth and some of the leaders of the ward came over and did more of the “bigger” yard work for us and for Yevonn (cutting trees, weed wacking, cutting shrubs and bushes etc.). It was awesome and turned out a lot better than it was before! I wish I had taken a before and after picture! Oh well, but Yevonn was so grateful for it. πŸ™‚
And of course Sister Solosko and I did our daily volunteering at the senior center so that is always fun. πŸ™‚
We also got to attend a baptism for our recent convert’s daughter who just turned 8 and Sister Solosko and I shared our testimony’s about baptism. πŸ™‚ It was such a nice, sweet baptism. πŸ™‚
This week we had cleaning checks for our duplex and we passed! Yahoo! I wasn’t too worried about that though, my companion and I are pretty clean people, but because of our cleanness we got two extra rolls of toilet paper and one roll of toilet paper. Woohoo! πŸ™‚
On Thursday, my companion and I had exchanges. For this, one of us would go to another area of our mission and we would switch companions. So my companion went to View Ridge and I stayed in Lake Stevens, and I had Sister Dalley as my companion for that day. Sister Dalley and I had a great time together. We volunteered at the Food Bank, we were outside and inside this time so it was nice to move around, rather being in one spot. πŸ™‚ We also visited less actives, recent converts and an investigator. It went great. πŸ™‚
I also had another exchange on Friday and I was with Sister Radda that day and it went well also. We did the normal, see investigators, less actives and recent converts. πŸ™‚
Okay so in the last email I said I would go more into detail about our investigators,
Erabella, remember she is the girl who came into the church building and wanted to know more about being baptized and receiving the Holy Ghost? Well we tried meeting up with her on Wednesday at the church but she wasn’t able to meet up with her because she didn’t have any gas money. 😦 Then we invited her to a baptism so she could see what it was like, and also to church but we never got a reply. 😦 BUT! We will still try our best to keep in contact with her. Hopefully she’ll be able to meet with us this week! πŸ™‚
Krystal, she is our other investigator, I didn’t mention her much before because the whole time I have been here we haven’t been able to see her at her home. She has a job and mostly works at nights. Her fiance is an atheist but he loooves us because he has seen the change in Krystal when we teach her. She also has a smoking problem, and also cancer on top of that, and her daughter who is 16 has a drug addiction problem. It’s so sad. But we are trying are our best to help her as well. We stopped by her house and thankfully she was home, her fiance got her for us and she talked with us and we talked to her and just talked about how she is doing, she also mentioned to us that she has some questions for us but wants to sit down and talk with us about the questions, so we will be meeting up with her on Friday for that!
Katie, she is a single mother, who also has a job, she has two teenage kids. A son who is into video games but that’s the least of her problems. She has a 14 year old daughter who is also addicted to drugs. We are also trying our best to help her. She was able to come to the fireside last Sunday and realized she needs to read the Book of Mormon. We met with her on Thursday, and Sister Dalley and I help her through reading the Book of Mormon, just the introduction of 1st Nephi and she thanked us that we had explained it to her because now she has a better understanding and now she can continue to read it. As we were leaving she sat outside her house reading more of it. She is having a church touron Wednesday and we hope to invite her to church on Sunday.
Stephanie, she is a mother with one child, she loves talking with us but is still learning about the gospel. We weren’t able to meet up with her this week but we hope to see her this week.
Diggy, he is 10 years old, his grandma is a member of the church but she wants us to teach him lessons. He gets bit distracted easily but luckily my companion and I have been able to do fun activities for him to understand the lessons better and not be too distracted.
Jamie, she is the single mother who I met at the Food Bank, that I have mentioned about before. We haven’t been able to meet with her but we stopped by her house while she was home and she said that we could meet with her sometime this week, so hopefully that’ll be able to happen!
Yevonn, she MIGHT be our new investigator. She loves the service we have done for her. She loves what we share with her and agrees with it. She’s not too sure if she wants to learn more so she told us that she will pray about it.
I’m loving all these investigators and it’s so sad that I will be leaving them, so hopefully the next set of missionaries will be able to teach them just as well or even better. I’m so grateful that I could have served in Washington, it really opened my eyes in seeing what really does happen with people in real life.
I will send a last “American” email on Monday and I will also send you the address to send me letters and packages to Australia. πŸ™‚
Hope you all have a great week!
IMG_0451 (1)
Sister Grawrock
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

