General E-Mail July 21 – July 27

G’day!

Hope all of you are still having a great summer!
This week was pretty good, not too much happened til the end of the week but it was good! 🙂
We finally got some cool off days with some clouds and rain! So that was nice, but I’m ready for the sun to come back. 🙂 
 
I currently still don’t have my visa, I have 2 more weeks to find out if it comes, if it doesn’t come within these next 2 weeks, I’ll be in Washington for another 6 weeks until my visa comes. A lot of you are probably wondering why it is taking so long. Weeell, when my dad and I filled out my visa paperwork we had to send in a copy of my passport and in the section for “Birthplace” it says Russia. When we had gotten the paperwork back, it said I was a Russian citizen…I am not a Russian citizen! So I guess because it said Russia on the birthplace section on the passport they assumed that I am a Russian citizen! So my dad and I had to change everything and resend it…so maybe that is the case? Who knows but I’m still waiting patiently! 🙂 
 
Our daily Tuesday and Thursday volunteering at the Senior Center for exercises were good this week! We had a pretty big group this week! So that was a lot of fun! 🙂 Sadly my companion and I weren’t able to go to the Kangaroo Kottage event though. We were volunteering at the Food Bank when they had it going on! Oh well. 🙂
 
Our other daily Thursday volunteering at the Food Bank went good as well! My companion and I were in the back organizing for a bit and then we got to be in the front. So it was good being able to help people in need and see their happy faces and just talk to them. 🙂
 
So usually my companion and I don’t do tracting (knock door to door to share the gospel/a spiritual message/and to see if the person is wanting to learn more) because we are mostly visiting current investigators (people interested in the church), less actives (people that don’t come to church often) and converts (recently baptized). But my companion and I came to a spot where none of our investigators, less actives, and converts were home. Then I had a prompting  that we should do tracting, just a little neighborhood for 30 minutes. I didn’t say anything but then my companion pulled over on the side of the street and she said that we should say a prayer to ask Heavenly Father what we should do, after we prayed she asked me, “What should we do? Just go home and work on our assignments from our mission leader?” I looked out my window and noticed how sunny and beautiful it was and I saw we had parked by a neighborhood with 10 houses. I said to her, “Lets tract these houses, it’s beautiful outside and I feel like walking!” So we did! We didn’t have anyone interested but I can tell you that I did have my first angry person! That was kind of scary…I knocked on the door and it was a much older man that opened the door, and me being me, in my happy voice said, “Hello! We are sister missionaries from the Church of Jesus-Christ of Latter Days and-” he cut me off with a loud voice “NO! GO AWAY! NOW!” and slammed the door.  I just looked at my companion kind of like, ‘what just happened?’ and she said, “Oh, that’s just the beginning, you’ll get use to it.” and then told me her experiences of tracting and coming across angry people and I thought to myself, ‘I guess I better start being more brave.’  It’s too bad he couldn’t hear our spiritual message but oh well it is what it is, we just continued on our merry way. 🙂 
 
Sadly my companion and I decided not to go on the tour of Boeing (biggest building in the world filled with airplanes) because you can’t take pictures inside and it’s 30 minutes away and we thought it would maybe be a waste of gas. So we just hung around the house, went to Target, made brownies, and I did her nails with my cool nail design plates that I have, it was a lot of fun. 🙂
 
This week for service my companion and I did yard work again for this sweet lady named Yvonne. She told us that she sometimes watches the BYU channel on TV and she really enjoys it, and her next door neighbor Sister Farmer is a member in the ward we are serving in and she told us that she had a really good gospel discussion with her. So maybe tomorrow when we do more yard work for her we will share a spiritual message, she is a very sweet lady. 🙂
 
My companion and I went to the Family History center on Friday because we had some time to watch some videos, which by the way, if you have time and want to know more about Mormons or just want to hear a spiritual life message, go to mormonchannel.org and watch the videos! There’s some really good ones! 🙂 Anyways! We got some time to go on mormon.org, mormonchannel.org, relativefinder.org and lds.org and while we were there a lady who is in charge of the family history center showed us on relative finder a group we could join to see who we were realated to in our stake. Well! Because my companion and I joined the group we both found out that we are 11th cousins 1 times removed! Pretty neat I must say! 🙂 
 
So we have 4 investigators so far! We were only able to teach one this week because it’s been bit of a crazy week due to it being the summer time and Lake Stevens (the town I’m in) had a festival called Aquafest, there were booths of arts and crafts that people made that they were trying to sell, and there was food and carnival rides. My companion and I volunteered at the Food Bank booth just sharing information about the Food Bank, but anyways it was fun people watching. 🙂 But we will be meeting with them this week and hopefully it will continue to go well. 🙂 One of our investigators actually came to a Fireside last night and she said she really enjoyed it and realized she needs to read the Book of Mormon so we are excited to teach her more about it. 🙂
 
We also MAY have a new investigator! Her name is E, she is about 16 years old, she walked into the church building asking to see the bishop and one of our members took her to the bishop and then she asked him if she could be baptized and receive the gift of the Holy Ghost and he then handed her to us and now we are going to meet up with her on Wednesday! Hopefully she is in our boundaries of where we are serving! I’m way excited! She seems like a very sweet girl! 🙂
 
I also gave a talk in the ward I’m serving in yesterday at church. It went pretty well! I actually had a little girl 4 years old come up to me and tell me she was crying, I asked her why was she crying, and she said because of my talk, and that she felt the spirit. It was adorable! It’s amazing even little kids can feel the spirit. 🙂 My topic was on “How has the scriptures and preach my gospel brought me closer to God and Jesus Christ?” My favorite thing about the Bible and Book of Mormon is that a lot of the verses can be compared into my life, such as;
 
Have Faith (this is a good one for those of you who are having a trail in your life that is hard to overcome): 
 
Doctrine and Covenants 121: 7-9: My son, peace be unto thy soul; thine adversity and thine afflictions shall be but a small moment; And then, if thou endure it well, God shall exalt thee on high; thou shalt triumph over all thy foes. Thy friends do stand by thee, and they shall hail thee again with warm hearts and friendly hands. 
 
Have Strength/Courage (this is good for those who are afraid or feeling discomfort): 
 
Joshua 1:9 Be strong and of a good courage; be not afraid, neither be thou dismayed: for the LORD thy God is with thee whithersoever thou goest.
 
I have sooo many more and could go on and on about them, I love that about the scriptures though, that I can turn to those verses and be reminded that Heavenly Father and Jesus Christ love me, and they know what my weaknesses are but because of them I know they can guide me and help me to happiness. 🙂
 
Joshua 1:9 is actually my favorite scripture and is on my missionary plaque at my home ward’s bulletin board and I choose that scripture because I was nervous going on my mission and I was worried that I wasn’t going to be good enough, but because of that scripture it has strengthen me and I haven’t had one time where I had the worry if I’m being good enough. I know I am good enough. 🙂
Hope you all have a splendid week! Be safe! 🙂
IMG_0110
 
Sister Grawrock
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

