General E-Mail July 13 – July 20

G’day!

Hope you all are having a great summer and being hydrated! It’s getting HOT here in Washington! I keep thinking this is probably nothing compared to Australia!

Speaking of Australia, my visa is still not here! Patient is key. πŸ™‚

So one thing I find very interesting as I have been out on my mission…my last name is apparently really hard to pronounce…mostly people will call me either Sister G, Sister Rock, or Sister Rocky. It’s pretty funny. πŸ™‚

So this week was a nice busy week!

Like usual my companion and I go to the Senior Center on Tuesdays and Thursdays to do exercises. We had a pretty big group on Thursday, we had a fun time! On Friday the center had a garage sale so my companion and I stopped by it to checked it out and we also said hi to some of our participates, they were so glad to see us. This week they are having a Kangaroo Kottage, they are bringing kangaroos to the center to let the seniors pet the kangaroos! Kind of random but so cool! So my companion and I are going to stop by and pet the kangaroos! Super excited! πŸ™‚

The Relief Society (an all adult women class during the 3rd hour to help prepare women for the blessings of eternal life by helping them increase faith and personal righteousness, strengthen families and homes, friends and seek out and help any other people who are in need.) had Enrichment (activity) on Tuesday, it was called “Who’s Who?” and we all had to bring 3 things that represented us and put it into a bag, then we had to go around and look in the bags and try to guess who is who.Β  I brought a hair bow that I made, a nail stamping plate, and lastly a box of Mike and Ikes. And I brought those because I love making hair bows, I do nail designing and Mike and Ikes are one of my favorite candies. It was a lot of fun getting to know the ladies in our ward. πŸ™‚

We had a zone meeting on Wednesday and of course like all the other meetings it was about how we can become better missionaries and also the rules of being a missionary. So same ol’ same ol’. πŸ˜›

Like usual, my companion and I volunteer at the Food Bank and this time we got to be the people who say how many items you can take. I love being able to volunteer and be able to see the people there thanking us for helping them. πŸ™‚

Funny story! So every morning my companion and I exercise, I was running up and down our street while my companion was working on her bike so she could ride it while I run, well anyways, I was running back and forth and then I saw someone come out of their house (probably going to work) and all of a sudden I see two dachshunds barking viciously going down their porch steps and come running after me, it was so funny watching two weenie dogs chasing me down the street. Lets just say I’m glad it wasn’t a rottweiler or pitpull! Haha!

On Saturday my companion and I did more yard work for a member’s neighbor and we also got to help some member’s move out of their home. The lady who we did yard work for is such a sweet lady, we hope to sometime share the gospel with her but for now we are glad to just do service for her. πŸ™‚

So my companion and I have four investigators (people that are interested in the church and we teach them about the gospel), one of the investigators is brand new to my companion and I (this means that we both have never met them before, the other 3 investigators my companion has taught so she knew them before me) her name is Jamie, she is a single mom with 2 kids, she is divorced, recently lost her job but got lucky with a new one so quickly but is still struggling with helping her family but she has such a sweet spirit. I actually noticed her when my companion and I went to volunteer at the food bank. She was in line waiting to get food and I noticed she was crying and I felt so bad because I always feel bad when I see people crying because I want to make sure they are okay and also want to help them. Well anyways, I had this strong feeling that I needed to talk to her and ask her if she needed help. So she got up to my line and I asked her how she was doing and she said, “I’m okay” and then I asked her about the food and then I said to her, “Is there anything I/we can do for you? We are sister missionaries and we are here to help those who are in need.” and she looked at me and said, “I need talk.” and I asked her where she lives, asked her name and also asked if my companion and I could stop by and talk to her and she said she would love that. So the next day we stopped by her house and it was such an amazing experience, she just talked to us and my companion and we just listened and helped her. She seems to have a very strong belief in God and Jesus and also families. We are going to meet with her tomorrow and teach her more about the gospel and why it’s so amazing to have it in our life. She is so sweet. I think she’ll be baptized soon. I’m so glad I listened to the spirit when it told me to talk to her. πŸ™‚

It’s amazing what the Holy Ghost can do for you and tell you what to do in certain situations, I’m so grateful that I can always have the spirit with me to know what I need to do and also knowing the difference between wrong and right but also knowing something is true and receiving answers and good feelings and be able to share it with others. πŸ™‚

Stay cool everyone! πŸ™‚

IMG_0049

Sister Grawrock

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

