General E-Mail June 23-July 6

G’day!

Hope your 4th of July was amazing! πŸ™‚

Alright, bear with me, for this is going to be quiet a long email…hope you enjoy!

So last time I wasn’t able to say much in my general email because of the short time I had! So let me just follow up on some things, and if I repeat myself from my last emails, I am terribly sorry but hey I guess to you it’s just a reminder. πŸ™‚

At the MTC (missionary training center) I had a district (group) of 11 Elders and Sisters. 2 Elders are going to Jamaica, 3 Elders are going to Arizona, 1 Elder is going to Australia, 2 Sisters are going to Arizona and my 2 companions and I are going to Australia!

All the Sisters in my district were in the same dorm room as me, so we had 5 girls in a room!

The dorm I was at during the MTC was just recently built so everything was brand new so it was pretty awesome but guess what? We had a meeting with all the Sisters and everyone thought maybe the prophet or some one from the high council or just someone super important from the church was going to speak to us. Nope. It was just a meeting for all the Sisters that there was a bat found in the dorm. So lucky for my companions and the 2 other Sisters and I got to move everything out of our dorm into a really old dorm. It was really gross and lucky me I got to sleep next to boogers on the wall, yeah you read it right, obviously guys were living in this dorm before us because come on, what girl would do that? πŸ˜‰ Oh well, positive to that dorm was the bed was super comfy. πŸ™‚

The cafeteria food at the MTC was eh, okay…I didn’t die did I? πŸ™‚ But guess what! One day they served us Taco Bell! Best. Day. EVER! πŸ™‚

Besides all the meetings, classes and studying we did get to have gym time! During gym time I just ran on the track and then went on the ab bench!

We also got to do service, we just cleaned around the classes, cleaned windows and vacuumed.

So yeah! That’s my MTC experience! It was amazing and I learned so much! πŸ™‚

I am still here in Washington! The airplane ride was short but good! I’ll hopefully only be here for 5 more weeks IF my visa comes within that time, but I have enjoyed being here in Washington so far, it reminds me so much of home, I mean I am only 4 hours away. πŸ™‚

Since I’ve been here in Washington let me just tell you what has been going on so far…

I have a new companion, her name is Sister Solosko, she is 20, and is from Texas, she goes home next month! She said your mission may start of slow at first but it’ll go by SO quickly! So I’m enjoying it while it lasts. πŸ™‚

Apparently we live in the nicest apartment because it’s the storage house where they keep extra beds and other things. It’s 2 stories and we get our own bathrooms which is way nice! And the bed is SO comfy! I love it. πŸ™‚

I’m in the Lake Stevens Ward and it’s a pretty big ward! Very friendly members! πŸ™‚

So far while being here I have went to meetings, visited recent converts, tracting, been having dinners with members from the ward, went to a retirement center, volunteered at the food bank, had a free lemonade stand at the park, went to a 4th of July BBQ and that’s about it! Here’s what my daily schedule looks like!

6:30AM Wake up/Exercise

7:00AM-8:00AM Get ready

8:00AM-9:00AM Personal study

9:00AM-10:00AM Companion study

11:00-12:00PM Lunch

12:00-5:00 Teach/visit/tracting

5:00-6:00 Dinner

6:00-8:30 Teach/visit/tracting

8:30-10:30 Daily planning for next day/relax/bed

Super busy but super fun. πŸ™‚

Let me tell you though, I haven’t even been on my mission for a month yet but while being here on a mission it has really opened my eyes. I have already met all kinds of people and hearing their life stories makes me think to myself how grateful I am for the life I live in. I never knew that the things you hear from others really do happen. Some of the people I have met have really hard struggles, are lonely, or have kids that are not in the right crowd. Such as dealing drugs or doing drugs, smoking, just starting at the age of 14. It breaks my heart seeing those parents having to go through that, or even adults going through addictions and they are doing everything they can to stop but they just don’t, or they just have no faith in themselves. Yesterday my companion and I went to a not so good neighborhood that have lots of problems. After I heard some of the people’s stories we went back into the car and I sat there and just cried, even though I had met some of these people for just 5 minutes, hearing their stories made me feel so bad for them and made me want to help them in any way possible and I just care so much about them and how just want them to be happy. That’s exactly why I am here on a mission, to reach out to those who do need that help, I’m not just here to preach to them, I’m simply here to guide them and to find happiness and be able to strive to become like Jesus Christ but also overcome their weakness. We all make mistakes and we all have weaknesses but because of faith, repentance, baptism and listening to the Holy Ghost, we can endure to the end, never give up, keep on trying and be able to live with him again. I promise you, whatever struggles you may have, you CAN over come them, all you need is faith in yourself, the gospel, Heavenly Father, Jesus Christ and listening to the Holy Ghost.

I hope you all have a great week! Stay safe! πŸ™‚

Sincerely,

Sister Grawrock

IMG_0107

P.S. I’ll try to be more detailed in the next general email of how my days are going. πŸ™‚

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

